Your Eyes Will Be Square!!

Finding my inner-Disney princess November 25, 2010

Filed under: Cinemas,Films — harrietperkins @ 1:37 am

I just cannot contain my excitement for Disney’s take-on Rapunzel, Tangled. Whenever Disney brings out a new film the inner-Disney princess in me leaps for joy. It sounds incredibly cheesy, but something about Disney makes me feel like a kid again.

After ‘The Frog Princess’, we’re back to Pixar with ‘Tangled’, but the concept seems so clever it’s hard not to be intrigued. The story focuses on bandit Flynn Rider, who is taken captive by Rapunzel after she finds him hiding in her tower.  Rapunzel who has been locked away in the tower all her life, soon makes a pact with Flynn that leads into a fun-filled action packed hair-raising escapade!

The film has received some pretty good reviews in America; Tom Long from Detroit News says, “Tangled is the best animated film from Disney in the past 15 years”, Robert W. Butler from Kansas City Star says, “This tongue-in-cheek retelling of Rapunzel gradually picks up steam until we’re firmly in the grasp of its hip hilarity and sincere romance” and Stephen Whitty from Newark Star-Ledger says “If “Tangled” hasn’t morphed into a Broadway show within five years, then Disney isn’t as smart as I think it is”.

Hitting UK cinemas 28 January 2011, we shall soon find out whether ‘Tangled’ is a new Disney classic!

What is it about Disney that gets everyone, (children and adults alike) so excited? I love Disney films because they take me back to my childhood. They’re an escape from reality and they allow you to be imaginative again. It must be all those colourful characters, they just seem to combine comedy, drama and romance all in one. Check out my top ten favourite Disney films of all time!

My Top Ten favourite Disney films:

10. Pocahontas

9. The Sword and the Stone

8. The Emperor’s New Groove

7. Oliver and Company

6. Alice in Wonderland

5. The Lion King

4. Aladdin

3. Toy Story

2. Beauty and the Beast

1. The Little Mermaid

 

4 Responses to “Finding my inner-Disney princess”

  1. hannahmayk Says:

    I absolutely love Disney films and I will definitely be going to see this! I loved The Princess and The Frog. Also very impressed that you have The Emperor’s New Groove in your top ten, that is quite possibly my favorite film ever.

    • Thanks Hannah for my first ever comment! Yay! The Emperor’s New Groove is awsome, Yzma and Kronk are the best comedy/villian duo Disney has ever produced in my opinion. I can’t wait for Tangled, I’m anticipating a thumbs up!

  2. samwaysblog Says:

    Loving this post about Disney – I’m a massive fan of Disney, like you, because it’s so familiar and takes me right back to being 6 and annoying my brother by watching The Lion King back-to-back up to 4 times in a row. Because I’m a bit old school, I would definitely put Toy Story lower down and The Lion King higher up: there’ nothing for me that beats a great song, but I’m sure this is something we could argue over for absolutely hours. Looking forward to your review of “Tangled” when it’s out!

    • Thank you for your comment!! 😀
      I think the reason why I ranked Toy Story a little higher is that I preferred it as a child; although Lion King is awsome, I think Toy Story entertained me a little bit more…But I agree Im definitely more into the old school Disney films than Pixar etc. They don’t make them like they used to…maybe Tangled will have some of that old school charm! We’ll have to see.


Leave a comment